Dr. Ana

Dr. Ana Gainaru

Dr. Padma

Dr. Padma Raghavan

Dr. Hongyang

Dr. Hongyang Sun

Dr. Ana Gainaru

Dr. Ana Gainaru is is a Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science of Vanderbilt University. She obtained her PhD in Computer Science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2015. Before joining Vanderbilt, she has worked as an HPC Architect for Mellanox Technologies focusing on designing and optimizing collective communication libraries for extreme-scale systems and as a Research Assistant for the National Center for Supercomputing Applications, working on the Blue Waters project. During this time, she has received the 2014 Student of the Year Award and the 2013 Technical Achievement Awards as well as the Saburo Muroga Endowed Fellowship granted by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign based on the results of her research.

Dr. Gainaru’s current research has been driven by two important questions: (i) what are the biggest challenges in making future HPC systems satisfy the huge demand in computing power in terms of throughput, efficiency, scalability and reliability? and (ii) how can we improve the performance and reliability of scientific applications in order to minimize the effects of an increase failure rate and resource contention on these machines. Her primary academic interests lie in analyzing and characterizing the behavior of current systems and scientific applications at large scale and developing approaches to increase their overall efficiency.

She has co-authored more than 20 peer reviewed publications, has served on the program committee of several international conferences on high-performance computing (e.g., ICS’16, SC’16, SC’17, IPDPS’17) and is a reviewer for several international journals (e.g. IJHPCA since 2014, TPDS since 2015, JPDC since 2016).

Dr. Padma Raghavan

Dr. Padma Raghavan is a Professor of Computer Science in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Vanderbilt University, where she is also Vice Provost for Research. Prior to joining Vanderbilt in February 2016, she was a Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the Pennsylvania State University and served as the Associate Vice President for Research and Director of Strategic Initiatives, in addition to being the founding Director of the Institute for CyberScience, the coordinating unit on campus for developing interdisciplinary computation and data-enabled science and engineering and the provider of high-performance computing services for the university. Raghavan received her Ph.D. in computer science from Penn State. Prior to joining Penn State in August 2000, she served as an associate professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Tennessee and as a research scientist at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Dr. Raghavan specializes in high-performance computing and computational science and engineering. She has led the development of “sparse algorithms” that derive from and operate on compact yet accurate representation of high dimensional data, complex models, and computed results. Raghavan has developed parallel sparse linear solvers that limit the growth of computational costs and utilize the concurrent computing capability of advanced hardware to enable the solution of complex large-scale modeling and simulation problems that are otherwise beyond reach. Raghavan was also among the first to propose the design of energy-efficient supercomputing systems by combining results from sparse scientific computing with energy-aware hardware optimizations used for small-embedded computers. In her professorial role, Raghavan is deeply involved in education and research, with 46 Masters and Ph.D. theses supervised and approximately 100 peer-reviewed publications. She has earned several awards including an NSF CAREER Award (1995), the Maria Goeppert-Mayer Distinguished Scholar Award (2002, University of Chicago and the Argonne National Laboratory), and selection as an IEEE Fellow (2013).

Dr. Raghavan is a prominent member of major professional societies including SIAM (Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics) and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers). She is the Chair of the Technical Program of the 2017 IEEE/ACM Conference on Supercomputing and serves on the editorial boards of SIAM series on Computational Science and Engineering, and Software, Environments and Tools. Raghavan is also a member of the SIAM Committee on Science Policy and the SIAM Council, which together with its Board and officers leads SIAM. Raghavan serves on the Advisory Board of the Computing and Information Science and Engineering Directorate of the National Science Foundation and the National Academies Panel on Computational Sciences at the Army Research Laboratory.

Dr. Hongyang Sun

Dr. Hongyang Sun is a Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science of Vanderbilt University. He obtained his Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. Before joining Vanderbilt, he has worked as a postdoc researcher at Toulouse Institute of Computer Science Research, École normale supérieure de Lyon & INRIA in France, and a senior research fellow at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore.

Dr. Sun’s main research focuses on improving the performance (via scheduling, modeling and optimization, algorithm analysis, etc.), energy efficiency (e.g., green computing, thermal-aware computing, data center cooling), and fault tolerance (e.g., checkpointing, replication, application-level resilience) of High-Performance Computing (HPC) systems. His recent research interests include data-intensive computing (e.g., memory-bound or I/O-bound computations, cache efficiency), and the convergence of HPC and Data Science driven by applications in various interdisciplinary domains (e.g., machine learning, computational neuroscience).

Dr. Sun was awarded the Labex Milyon postdoctoral fellowship (2014), and is a senior member of IEEE (since 2017). He has co-authored 30+ peer reviewed publications and has served on the program committee of several international conferences on high-performance computing (e.g., SBAC-PAD’15, IPDPS’16, ICS’17, HiPC’17).


Guillaume Aupy

Inria Bordeaux - Sud Ouest

Sanjukta Bhowmick

University of Nebraska, Omaha. Peter Kiewit Institute

Joshua Dennis Booth

Franklin and Marshall College

Michael Frasca


Benjamin Heidorn


Shad Kirmani


Ingyu Lee

Troy University

Konrad Malkovski


JeongHyung Park

Samsung Korea

Paul Renaud-Goud

Akvaplan Niva

Manu Shantharam

San Diego Supercomputer Center

Keita Teranishi

Sandia National Laboratories